Buzios

I heard good things about Buzios. And it was my next destination. So I trudge off to the bus station from Copacabana in the morning. And try to get there as early as possible.

I book a ticket to Buzios and a ticket back to Rio. I even book a bus to Ouro Preto the night I return.

A 4 hour bus ride lays ahead and after a quick lunch meal at the Rodovaria which is more like a shopping malls food court. However no McDonalds or KFC just Big Bobs. Big Bobs is like a Brazilian McDonalds chain with similar food. I steer clear of that and grab a pasta.

The bus ride goes smoothly, and arrive at Buzios. And a 5 minute walk to the hostel, El Misti Yellow. Unfortunately, they have lost my booking. And have to ring up the other El Misti and ask for my booking which was there. So after a check in, I head off for some dinner.

 

I then become alarmed. Walking through the centre I hit a McDonalds, Big Bobs and Subway all within 20m of each other. I then realise this is not where I want to be. Oh well.

I don’t do much in Buzios over the next two days. The most I do is go venture to a few of the local beaches. Chill out by the pool and eat lots of por quilo restaurants in town. And try to get out as quickly as possible.

I just find the place overtly touristy. And wish I came here 10 years ago.

This entry was published on February 2, 2012 at 8:58 pm. It’s filed under Brazil, Buzios and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

