Cruising the Channel

Checking online at the weather, it seems like today will be a good day. Well a somewhat good day. Its still cold and a bit windy. So I head to the Tourist Office Cityat the port. Where I book onto a Navegacion de Beagle Channel – most places offer exactly the same tour. I end up with Patagonia Explorer.

Port of Ushuaia.

The rest of the day is spent wandering the streets, drinking some coffee and catching up with emails, photo editing and my journal. Why was I doing this instead of doing something enjoyable. Well I had booked onto the ‘sunset cruise’. So my boat didn’t leave til 7:30. So at about 6 I venture down to the tourist pier to take my boat cruise.

Fin del Mundo. Not exactly, but its close enough.

However, there is a slight problem. On the walk to town, the weather turns to sludge again – wind and a sprinkling of rain. At the office, the tour is cancelled due the bad weather. The company is quite good and rearranges for the following day at the same time. Bummed, I catch the bus back to the hostel and grab some food from the mini mercado across the road. And make sure to grab two big Quilmes’. And settle in for a few drinks – if I had someone to drink with.

This entry was published on December 22, 2011 at 10:18 pm. It’s filed under Argentina, Ushuaia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

