Cinque Terre, Cinque Terre.

Cinque Terre – October 1st, 2009.
So its the usual get coffee/food morning. Chill out at the free wifi spot and check email and book a hostel in Florence for tomorrow night.

I then meet up with Katja and we make our way on the train out to Corniglia (for myself and Monterossa for her). I get off at Monterossa, and there is no way I am doing the 300+ steps to the top. So I get the bus up there. Then begin the trek – apparently this is the hard part of the trek.

But at first its pretty easy and laid back – apart from the track. Its still serene and gorgeous despite the burnt out trees that were ravaged by a bush fire.

Looking back on Corniglia.

The walk steps up a notch later on in the leg to Vernazza. It gets awfully steep and rugged, but as we get towards the coastline and cliffs you are met with amazing views of Corniglia and then around the corner you get some good views of Vernazza. I meet an Australian couple doing the walk and chat to them about things and stuff at home. Its good catching up on things in Australia from time to time.

Got steps? Yup, steep ones.

Once in Vernazza I decide to grab my food – tuna baguettes. Yup all class and still eating like a backpacker. Awesome though. Theres a beach and some cool shops around. But its gonna take a long time to get to Monterossa as its the most difficult part of the walk.

Vernazza.

The climb up from Vernazza to just above it is quite demanding but the view you have of the village is incredible. Postcard stuff. The rest of the walk to Monterossa is all up and down. Its very very demanding.

Vernazza.

The end of the walk goes downhill – which is relieving – though I do feel sorry for the people coming up and going to Vernazza. Ouch.

Along the walk.

Walking. Walking. Walking.

Monterossa, to me, is the ugliest looking village. I am sure its got its charms but it just doesn’t do much for me. I meet up with Katja and we catch the train back to Riomaggiore. Then arrange to meet up once again for vino and sunsets over the harbour.

Monterossa

I head up on the bus to the top of the hill. And get great views – so good I can see all 5 villages. Definitely worth it. However, there doesn’t seem to be a bus going down. So I start to walk down. And luckily don’t see a bus. The walk down doesn’t take too long as I find a shortcut. Thank god.

After a quick feed I go meet up with Katja. We spend the evening drinking many reds/whites and chatting til the wee hours of the morning before saying our goodbyes. As we are both off tomorrow!

This entry was published on January 25, 2010 at 6:44 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

