I can’t believe its not butter!

San Sebastian – July 3rd, 2009

After waking up in the sweatbox that is Rogers House 3 bed dorm, and realising I have to go. I am slightly happy to get out of such a bad hostel. Ok ok, so it wasn’t completely bad. Its just the dorms suck, completely, and there is NO common room apart from a kitchen. So I am happy to be leaving.

After a brief pitstop at a net cafe where I run into Jon and a few melbournian girls from the hostel (they’re all off to Barca) and book a few things like hostels in Barca and a flight to Prague its off to check in to my new hostel.

The new hostel just happens to be a fair fricking hike. Its in the new town section of San Seb and its near the ‘main’ beach. Though there is not much around but a bustling main street with new shops and such. On arrival at the hostel, the owner says I can leave my bags here but I can’t check in to later in the afternoon. So I head off down to the beach for a swim.

Though I seem to be over just ‘swimming’. I need more adventure. I need a wave but there is no swell to be found. I need a cliff to jump off but theres none of that nearby either. So I end up laying on the beach reading a hemingway book about San Fermin. Basically to get myself a bit excited about what is to come.

I head back to the hostel via the supermercato and pick up my ritual baguette, salami and cheese. And devour it in the hostel. Before officially “checking in”. I head off back to the beach, but by pass it for the main beach. Where I can do a bit of body surfing, its definitely not big enough for a surf.

Then head off back for some dinner, and meet some new room mates before just cruising around San Sebastian at night. I need a night off from the impending liver damage that will no doubt ensue at a little festival in Pamplona. I just walk around the streets and chill out eating some ice cream and watch some street performers before shacking up and sleeping for the night.

This entry was published on October 18, 2009 at 3:29 pm. It’s filed under Backpacking, Spain, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

