Sweaty in Sevilla

Sevilla, Spain – June 23rd 2009

Gotta love it when hostels have breakfast for free. Even if its just toast, cereal and juice. It definitely beats paying for it. I tuck in for a hearty feed, I go back for a few seconds. I head off on a walk past the Bullfighting arena aka Maestranza Bullring (its one of the biggest and most famed  and oldest in Spain). And make my way to the Cathedral De Sevilla. Its the 3rd largest cathedral in the world and its got the famed Bell tower too. It also has the largest area (according to a certificate I read in the cathedral from the Guiness book of records). And lets not talk about the heat, because its very very hot – close to 50 hot.

Sevilla Cathedral

Sevilla Cathedral

Giraldo Tower

Giraldo Tower

I have to wait outside, as I get there a little early, who would of thought, me getting somewhere before it opened, its amazing. And waiting outside some gypsy harrasses me with some herb thing and a ‘fortune telling’ which is bollocks. We know its a ruse, she asks for money, I walk off and wait outside. Its not as spectacular as the Cathedrals of St Peters and Pauls. But I quite like the understated nature of it.

The cathedral opens up and I walk inside. The line is pretty big, I guess its a number 1 attraction here. But I get cheap tickets. Score! Thank you old student card! And walk in.

The inside of the cathedral is mighty impressive. The choir vestibules is made out of 18th century Mahogony, and the alter is all covered in Gold Leaf. There is a section roped off at the back, for people to sleep (not sure why, I didn’t get to find out) and then walk around. What I find most impressive is a big tomb being carried by four giant kings (representing kingdoms in spain). The inscription reads “Christobel Columbus” – its christopher columbus’ tomb. That was unexpected. Its quite grand, and I guess for his efforts they should be.

Gold Leaf Alter

Gold Leaf Alter

Columbus Tomb

Columbus Tomb

Mirror Mirror

Mirror Mirror

I cruise around the rest of the church, taking in the many small alters and vestibules that are here. Before climbing the passage to the Giraldo Tower – the massive structure you see from anywhere in Sevilla. The views are pretty impressive, but as soon as I get to the top there is a massive bell toilling – I’ve got good timing thats for sure. I walk back down and then chill in the Orange Grove courtyard and relax before heading off.

The View over the Alcazar in Sevilla

The View over the Alcazar in Sevilla

There was an exhibition next to the cathedral that was free and was about the Spanish involvement in the discovery of the USA. It was quite a cool exhibition, from what I could gather from my little knowledge of the spainish language. And I run into one of the Americans from Lagos.

I head back to the hostel for some cheap grub – sambos and a siesta before doing some more walking about.

I go up to the bridge and cross it, where there is a watch tower on the river. I walk up past the Uni and its pretty massive for a university. Before making my way to get some water and then to the Alcazar – a Royal Palace that is still used by the spainish royal family. Its pretty nice, and some cool moorish tones to it. Its also free thanks to mister student card.

A part of the Alcazar

A part of the Alcazar

I go back to the hostel and cook some dinner, and have some beers before heading out with an american room mate on a pub crawl. Its a tuesday night, and its basically just the pub crawl group that is out. Its pretty fun and we get pretty fucking hammered. We end up at a club that is on the river, but its deserted – literally. It would be cool if it wasn’t deserted.

This entry was published on September 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm. It’s filed under Backpacking, Drinking, Sevilla, Spain and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Sweaty in Sevilla

  1. hey man I wanna know which hostel were U in Seville.
    I organize pub crawls in seville and we used to go by the river during th summer,maybe u were one of my customers…

    cheers

    Dario

Leave a Reply

