Its the end of the world as we know it

Lagos, Cabo De Vincient, Sagres – June 21st 2009

I laze about the hostel, wondering if I should waste a day at the beach or go explore Sagres. I want to go to the Cabo De St Vincent. But its hard to get there from the Bus stop in Sagres. So I do the only logical thing I can do….hire a scooter. For the low low price of about 20 euros I get a scooter for the day.

I get given some good directions of where to go and I head straight for Sagres, and Cabo De St Vincient. The trip out is cool, its an easy to ride scooter, nothing more than a 1 gear scooter and just throttle. It struggles to push 60kms and thats going downhill. It takes about an hour to get out to Sagres, and I decide to keep legging it to Cabo De St Vincient.

During the time, when Europe and Asia where the only real known parts of the world, Cabo De St Vincient was thought to be the edge of the world. The last part of land before you saild to Asia. There is a lighthouse and some spectacular cliffs that dive straight down into the ocean. I am quite saddened to see a few caravans selling food and market stalls at this place. But I suppose thats tourism for ya. I go off and explore the cliffside on both sides of the lighthouse. Amazing views of the whole penisula.

Edge of the world!

Edge of the world!

The Lighthouse

The Lighthouse

Cliffs at Cabo De St Vincient

Cliffs at Cabo De St Vincient

The views may be awesome, but walking with thongs on the rocky terrain is definitely not that good. I grab some convient food and cruise the markets before going back to Sagres, stopping at an abandoned building for a geez. I head off to the Fort in Sagres. It was home to Henry the Navigator and its where he set up his school of navigation. Its a massive building and you can look out to where the Cape is.

My ride, purple, colour of champions

My ride, purple, colour of champions

I head up along a road thats filled with Eucalypt looking trees to a beach called Praia Do Amado, which has a full carpark. And surf hire shops everywhere. I was about to hire one, when I saw that the surf was pretty dreadful. But I spend the rest of the afternoon bodysurfing the dismal and weak waves. Its still fun but.

Amado Beach

Amado Beach

I head back along the way and spend the rest of my time at the Praia Do Ana in Lagos and cruise around the grottoes and wait til about 7 when my scooter has to be back.

I end up hanging out with a guy named Ben, who is over for a 2 week surf trip. Awesome. We end up heading out on the sunday night. But its fairly quiet, but we pull up at a bar and end up having shots poured for us for free. Which is always handy. Not a big night as its dead, real dead.

This entry was published on September 13, 2009 at 7:23 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

