On the stereo

Sintra and Cabo De Boca – June 18th 2009

I was planning to go to Lagos today, but I changed my mind and decided to stay another night. Thats so I can go visit this place that is about an hour away from Lisboa.

I head to a place called Sintra. Its about a 40 minute train ride away. Not to mention the walk up the hill to the National Palace. Which is pretty spectacular. But there are a tonne of different palaces and castles around here. And choosing just one is a pain in the butt to be honest. I hang about and get some Pastela De Natas and eat them in the square outside the Palace.

National Palace, Sintra

National Palace, Sintra

So the centre of Sintra is quite quaint. Tiny cobblestoned streets and a tonne of charm. I decide to go to the Pena Palace. Which lucky for me happens to be right at the very top of a massive hill. I start to walk up it, then realise it’s a 15 minute bus ride. So a walk up is gonna be murder. So I take the bus up.

I get a wee bit apphrensive that they want over 5 euros to go in, but walking up towards the palace I am reassured by the fact the gardens have massive Seqoia.

Seqoia

Seqoia

The Palace itself is pretty indescribable. Its sort of out of a fairytale with these splashes of yellows and pinks. Not to mention the amazing tiles that make up the outside walls in some parts.

Pena Palace

Pena Palace

I dont have a ticket to go inside, so I head up to a spot up on the hill called the ‘queens’ chair. Its a huge throne like rock that has some amazing views over the palace. The trek up isn’t too bad either. Life is looking good right now.

Walking to the viewpoint

Walking to the viewpoint

Pena Palace

Pena Palace

I head down through the gardens and wait for the bus down to the bottom of the hill. Where I wait, and wait, and wait for what seems like an eternity. So long I get an ice cream, then go back and get a pastry, then a drink and then another ice cream. Thats how long it took. But I get on the bus to go to Cabo De Boca.

Cabo De Boca is the most westerly point of Portugal, and well mainland Europe. There is a some nice little villages around and its quite picturesque. There is also a tourist info centre where you can buy a scroll saying you’ve been. Wowee.

Anyway I spend a good hour or so, walking along the cliffs and getting some pretty good photos. Its quite blusterly. Its quite mindblowing seeing 100m or so below the Atlantic crashing and roaring into the cliffs.

Cliffs

Cliffs

Cabo De Boca - Edge of the world

Cabo De Boca - Edge of the world

Searching

Searching

Flower and Cabo De Boca

Flower and Cabo De Boca

I head back to the hostel and after a bit of food. Noah and myself grab a beer and head up to this lookout and chill drinking a 1L beer. It goes down quite well. Except when a local just points to my beer and goes ‘give’. He gets quite annoyed when I say no. It wouldn’t of been a problem for me to give it to him, but he didn’t speak to us once or try to. If it was someone who actually started talking to us and seeing how we were. It would be a different story.

This entry was published on September 6, 2009 at 9:41 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

