Another day in Lisboa

Lisboa – June 17th 2009

I’ve gotten myself into a massive routine. Get up, have breakfast, sleep some more. Its worked pretty well thus far. I head off on a walk through the Alfama district, that was sort of suggested in a guide book (Let’s Go).

The Alfama district is the high district. Its up on top of a massive hill. I start off by catching Tram 28 up to Igreja De Sao Vincente De Fora, its a pretty nice looking church. But as with a lot of churches it wants me to pay to get in. So I don’t go in. As I say, seen one church, you’ve seen most of them.

Igreja De Sao Vicente De Fora

Igreja De Sao Vicente De Fora

I go down to the Patheon Nacional, its sort of the nations monument and a tribute to the heroes of the country like Vasco De Gama (Portuguese Explorer). But the real buzz is climbing the stairs to the top of the dome where you get some fasciniting views of the area.

Pantheon

Pantheon

Hands up if you've been to Portugal?

Hands up if you've been to Portugal?

View from the top of the Pantheon

View from the top of the Pantheon

I make my down to the Castelo De Jorge. The streets on the way down are quite dirty, but it is rather fascinating. I even spot a street performer doing some juggling. Cannot understand why when its this hot.

Juggler

Juggler

The castle itself is quite a disappointment, but the view over Lisboa is amazing. Their isn’t a lot to the castle, but there is a guy in the middle playing classical guitar which is quite nice to sit down and chill out too. Even if you cannot chill too much.

The view over from the castle. Lisboa below

The view over from the castle. Lisboa below

Classical Guitar in the castle

Classical Guitar in the castle

I make my way down to the Se Cathedral, which seems impressively ugly, yep impressively ugly fromt he outside. And the inside, well that isn’t much better. But its still fascinating seeing churches that have more history than most of Australia.

Se Cathedral

Se Cathedral

As I step outside into the sweltering heat I realise I need to get to the beach asap. The guy at the hostel recommended myself Carcavelos. And although its nice and there is lots of young people about. There is  a lack of waves. Come on, I want some waves to have some fun on.

As I stumble up the hill I run into a guy named Noah, who is looking rather lost and relieved to have found the hostel. We sit around and mingle, drink some beer before heading out with a girl named Tinka (a cute dutch girl that I first met in Porto). We head out into the Bairro Alto area and cruise the streets. There are plenty of good bars around and its nice to buy a beer and be able to take it outside without being accosted. Its still weird having people come up to yourself and tap their nose and ask if you want cocaine. I find it a bit weird and absurd its so open here.

And with that I will leave you with this photo of two police officers on Segways, you don’t see that everyday.

Police on Segways

Police on Segways

This entry was published on September 6, 2009 at 9:11 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

