Awaking to a Jet Plane

Porto – 13th June 2009

I get awoken from my nice slumber by a noise that I have not heard before. It seriously sounds like a jet engine has just roared into the dorm room. Its so loud I think I am on the tarmac at the airport, until I take in my surroundings and realise I am in the hostel. Ouch. That sucks.

I get forced to get up early and have some breakfast which is pretty damn delicious. I then just lounge about listening to Bon Iver on the Hammock. It gets to about 12 and I decide to go for a bit of an exploration of Porto.

I head up and inside the Se cathedral and theres a few more tourists around today, before doing the walk across the top of the Dom Luis Bridge (designed by none other than Gustav Eiffel – that man who designed the eiffel tower). Anyway the views are pretty god damn spectacular from the top of the bridge.

View down the Douro River. The port wineries are on the left side.

View down the Douro River. The port wineries are on the left side.

I get across after nearly being hit by trams a few times, then decide to go across to this cool little park on the other side of the bridge. Its not actually cool, but the views are pretty sweet. I descend down through deserted and derelict streets towards the river side. Which as disgusting as it may be, I find it quite interesting. I get to the foot of the bridge and laze on the foreshore of the river and just take in the view thats before me. Its not a bad view at all.

The famous bridge

The famous bridge

Enjoying the views

Enjoying the views

I basically make my way along all the Port wineries and have a look in, most are all pay for tours and get samples. There area  few free ones, somewhere. I end up scouring back streets for Pastelerias and find some awesome cheap food for about a euro. I eat on the harbour and its awesome.

Chilling by the Douro

Chilling by the Douro

Riverside

Riverside

There isn’t a great deal to do in Porto, so I laze on the river once again. Tedious, but hey, I can do what I like.I head back to the hostel for a reprieve from the hot weather. After a bit of lazing I run into Jacqui and we decide to go meet one of her friends and go get some free Port.

We get over to the place, but are quite disappointed we have to go on a tour, so we “wander” off and get told to come back, which we don’t do immediately. And then told off by the guide. We get a small, and I mean very small offering of port. I am disappointed. What a joke.

Port Wine Tour gone wrong

Port Wine Tour gone wrong

We both just look at each other and then go “Ice Cold Beer?”. So we go and find a cheap little bar, and have some cheap cervaza’s. We detour and get some cheese and wine and some beer for dinner. It goes down a treat, before we head off with Martin and Addam for the most gut busting meal of all time.

Francesinha is what we are in search of. Its a delicious hot sandwich with a steak, sausage, bacon, some cold meat, cheese and all topped off with an egg on top. Not to mention the large quantity of fries that are around it drizzled in the secret sauce that has beer in it. Nuts. It is seriously a heart attack on a plate. I don’t know why the states haven’t adopted this. I feel so bloated afterwards though.

Imperial McDonalds

Imperial McDonalds

An example of the meal from hell....or from heaven if your a fat bastard.

An example of the meal from hell....or from heaven if your a fat bastard.

We do a steady crawl through the streets of Porto to a few different bars and clubs. We get cheap beer at all these places. I love the fact that they allow you to just take your beer into the street. Cannot get better than that. The steady crawl is a bit of fun. But the look on all of our faces is like we are zonked, totally zapped. I blame the meal.

We head back in at the early hour of 3am as we’re all beat and hit the hay. Its an early night, but it has given me more of a chance to want to go and explore the nightlife of Porto some more.

This entry was published on September 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm. It’s filed under Backpacking, Drinking, Porto, Portugal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

