I wouldn’t be in fucking Brugges

Brugges – 9th April 2009

Its a typical late uni student start to the day. A coffee and a not much else. Pieter offers to drive me to Brugge on his way to his families house. Of course, I take the offer up.

The drive out is alright, listening to The National play and watching green pastures pass by. And its flat as a tack.

We say our goodbyes, but as I walk away I realise that I left my camera in his car. So I run back and chase after the car. And grab the camera. Phew.

Its a little unnerving at first and skeptical as the station is looking very 70ish and not very Brugge-ish. I notice a bunch of people walking down a path. So I follow.

The magic of Brugge pops up not long into the walk down the path. I take a few cobblestoned side streets. And I’m getting a little peckish so I head for a cheap place to get some food. There is a Pasta place with cheap pasta, it comes in a cup. Convenient. I sit on the Markkt and eat my pasta whilst people watching. There seems to be a lot of tourists and its a bit lame. They are all out with bum bags and cameras at the ready. I do a bit of laughing at that.

I knew it was touristy here but so far its exceeding that tourist factor.

After I have downed the pasta I go and climb the Belfort tower. And get a birds eye view of the area. Its a massive 300+ steps up to the top of the tower, but the views are pretty splendid once there.

The walk up is seperted into different side rooms where they have little artefacts and some bells and what not. There was one with the clock mechanism. Not that interesting but noteworthy.

The walk back down takes twice as long, mainly due to the amount of people coming up and the small stairwell. After getting out, I wander to a small square where in the corner is a small chapel. Its the “Holy Blood Chapel” and its main claim to fame is that it has the ‘blood of christ’ if you choose to believe it or not is another question that I dont really want to discuss. But alas seeing as its easter the place is shut. Oh well.

The square or Burg as its called is pretty cool and even has a spaced out art work that looks like a car wash.

The canals here are what draws people too. A mass of them. There are tonnes of toursit boats doing the laps around. I get belgianed out and grab a traditional waffle. It was super delicious. As well as Frites (belgian fries) with mayo and sauce.

I check out some more canals and a church which actually has a statue of Madonna and Son by Michaelangelo. The rare thing is, it is one of the only works outside of Italy.

Whilst eating my frites I see about 2 dozen horse carriages and boats going past. I even exclaim to myself ‘Its like disneyland without the entrance fee’. It seriously feels like a massive tourist park.

Its here that I decide to leave and head back to Ghent. The train ride is pretty quick, but then all train travel in Belgium is quick – it isn’t a big place. I go get my bag and then head up to my next CS host Eline. I have a pretty quiet night, not doing a hell of a lot but catching up on emails and chilling out.

This entry was published on August 20, 2009 at 4:20 pm. It’s filed under Backpacking, Belgium, Brugge, Ghent and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “I wouldn’t be in fucking Brugges

  1. Azalia on said:

    Do you know the address or name of the pasta place you wrote about? I’ll appreciate if you could let me know.

    tnx

Leave a Reply

